The Cliffs of Insanity!!! Now with 100% Extra Free Post!

Finally I got everything to work so I can add these photos. I’m not going to describe anything and will let the photos speak for themselves.

They are amazing aren’t they? The Cliffs of Moher are one of the most sought after locations for tourists of Ireland. The cliffs themselves inspire a terrible beauty as you gaze across them to the north and south. Not only that but you have the vast ocean unfurling in front of you with views of the Aran Islands far in the distance. As I walked along the cliff side a few boats and a two seater airplane buzzed past the cliff side. Rising at 702 feet at its highest point, coming in by boat and seeing these cliff sides towering above you must be a terrifying and awesome experience.

Walking along the path ontop of the cliff was a powerful experience in itself. Once you leave the actual Cliffs of Moher park and enter the neighboring farm all forms of safety features disappear. Minus a few signs warning you that the cliffs kill, that people have died, shouting EXTREME DANGER at you, there is nothing between you and a quick fall with a quick stop. Of course  this meant I had to get right to the brink. At first I just peaked my head over staring straight down into the waves crashing into the rocks below. As I trusted my self more, and judged the wind, I was able to get right to the edge. Photos such as the one of the ocean and a bunch of others were taken while crawling out on my belly and leaning out or sitting with a foot hanging out. It was an exhilarating experience to be that close to the edge of life.

Maybe I’m just a crazy person, but it sure did get my heart pumping.. Almost gave a few of my class mates heart attacks at my antics. Only once did I have a sense of vertigo where I looked straight down and had to step back for a second to catch my breath and realign my reeling brain. Don’t worry though my readers I’m typing this post now which means I remained safe. As light hearted and jokingly as I talk about it now, there is a real danger to these cliffs, and that needs to be respected. Actually in my research there are relatively few deaths associated with the Cliffs of Moher. Though there have been a few cases of suicide at the cliffs, and a few accidents reported as well, I couldn’t find any statistic of the amount of accidental deaths. Based on some discussions I had, looked into, and new articles it seems like only a couple dozen have slipped off the edge. Still the possibility is there and strong winds can easily give that final push. At no point did I lose sight of the danger that these beautiful cliffs have.

The parallels between beauty and danger is why these cliffs have also attracted so much attention in the media. Movies such as the Princess Bride used this location to represent The Cliffs Of Insanity! In Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, Harry and Dumbledore travel to the cliffs to destroy a Horcruxes. In the 1970s one movie even drove a car off the edge and let it crash into the rocks below to be washed away by the tide, something that seems inconceivable to us now a days. I

If you ever find yourself in Ireland make your way to the Cliffs of Moher.

This entry was posted in Irish Trip. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Cliffs of Insanity!!! Now with 100% Extra Free Post!

  1. Heather says:

    So, it is down to you and it is down to me…

Leave a Reply

