A Study In Flowers

We made our way out of Dublin town today, leaving behind the history, the hustle and bustle, and the wonderful people. The week I spent there was fantastic and though a short time I feel like I was able to start to actually contextualize everything I have learned over the last half year. As we boarded the bus and started to drive into the country side, I realized I truly will miss Dublin.

I fell asleep while leaving Dublin and woke up to the image of stereotypical Ireland.Rolling hills of green disappearing into the misty mountains. Seas of bright yellow wild flowers swaying in the wind. Ancient ruined towers of stone crawling with vines reaching into the sky. Farming communities stretching to the horizon. I was truly speechless as we drove through the Irish country side. Everything you have heard about the beauty of Ireland is true,  its beyond explanation.  I can’t imagine what it would be like to wake up to that view everyday, and those hills, well they just begged to be rolled down. That’s my new goal, to roll down one of those amazing hills, go around and around till I can’t think straight let alone stand.

After arriving in Belfast and grabbing some fish and chips to eat I headed to the botanic gardens. Rather then even attempt to explain how beautiful it was I’ll post a collection of the photos I took while wandering through the gardens.

This entry was posted in Irish Trip. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Study In Flowers

  1. Nancy Costea says:

    Beautiful…I can almost smell the flowers!
    Once a long time ago I read a quote describing Ireland as possessing “a terrible beauty.” I can’t recall who the writer was, but I imagine he meant that the country has had such a turbulent history juxtaposed on such a gorgeous pastoral landscape.
    Too bad they couldn’t stop the bus to let you take a roll down one of those hills, though:)

    • judithcoe says:

      Yes, beautiful! Peter and Nancy, this is from WB Yeats’ poem, “Easter, 1916,” about the unsuccessful struggle in Ireland’s fight for independence. Students have been learning a great deal about the Easter Rising, The War of Independence, the Irish Civil Way, and The Troubles. Yeats writes about the transformation from ordinary citizen to revolutionary with this refrain, “All changed, changed utterly / A terrible beauty is born.” You can read Yeats’ beautiful poem at: http://www.online-literature.com/donne/779/.

  2. Pingback: A Study In People (Wise Cyril) | People Places and Adventures in Ireland

  3. Pingback: Peter Costea’s Love of Nature, People and Philosophical Musings | Ireland in Context

Leave a Reply

